Sermon Illustrations Aid

When I was doing a ministry apprenticeship, my trainer advised me to get a filing cabinet organised in terms of books of the Bible and topics that are relevant to preaching. Whenever I came across an article or an idea that would vaguely serve as an illustration, I would then file it in the relevant section. In time, I would have a heap of potential sermon illustrations just waiting in folders for me to appropriate when the time came.

It was a great idea, and I certainly filled many folders worth of clippings and articles and ideas. However I must admit that over the years I haven’t gone back into those files very often. I now have a big filing cabinet that I very rarely use.

Fast forward 15 years and now I collect my illustrations in a different way: a much simpler and technologically-aided way. I use Evernote, which is just a superb app for so many things. But for sermon illustrations, whether it’s an article, a blog, a video, a picture, a site… whatever, I simply clip it and store it in my Evernote account, which is automatically synced to my desktop and devices. The clipping function is an add-on that I downloaded to go directly on to my browser (I use Chrome). Whenever I come across something, I simply click the icon and it clips the page I’m on and stores it into my Evernote folder titled ‘Illustrations’. I then tag it with the relevant words to enable searching when the time comes.

So that’s me. I wonder, what do you use to collect sermon illustrations?

About Pete

I am a child of God, a husband, a father of four children, a pastor, and a church planter. I live in Sydney Australia and live to see Jesus made famous in this city and be the only God people worship.

Posted on March 11, 2012, in Ministry, Preachng and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. hey pete,

    great minds think alike…

    my physical files were never effective.

    so i tag them with evernote as well!

    🙂

  2. Never liked Evernote – but good idea. Thanks for sharing, maybe I’ll give it another look now.

  3. I’ve been using evernote to kick start my illustrations and bible journalling for a few months now 🙂

Leave a Reply

