Forget Not His Benefits

I’ve been down with some sort of flu virus in the last week or so. And yet, just like my wife shows me extra TLC in my sickness, I’ve discovered that my Father in Heaven has been doing the same.

I’ve received more encouraging notes from people I minister to in the last week than I usually get: little emails or messages to say how they’ve been challenged or changed by some aspect of my teaching ministry. The surprising thing is that through this entire week, my mind has been a fog and my ministry has been done in autopilot mode with a heck of a lot of prayer.

I’m grateful to these incredible people for all the encouragement I’ve received from them. But more than that, I see the hand of my Father in Heaven in delivering them to me. He knew what I needed, and he just wanted to lavish them on me. Isn’t he kind?

I’m not the sentimental type and never really keep cards and letters. However for a little while now I’ve used a special folder on my computer where I store all the encouraging emails and notes. I want to be able to read them time-to-time when I feel low or ministry gets discouraging. And it’s not so much for my self-esteem, it’s so that I can see with grateful eyes at God’s grace to me, even when things aren’t going well.

I wonder, do you do that? How do you store up examples of God’s tender mercies to you so that you can always give thanks, regardless of your circumstances?

And, have you thought about how you can be that channel of God’s grace in someone else’s life? Just with a note, or a phonecall, or an email? Let me especially encourage you to do this for your pastors, your leaders and your parents, ‘coz boy, do we need it!

About Pete

I am a child of God, a husband, a father of four children, a pastor, and a church planter. I live in Sydney Australia and live to see Jesus made famous in this city and be the only God people worship.

Posted on August 17, 2011, in Ministry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

