Refresh x2

So it’s been almost a year since I’ve posted. That’s refresh number 1.

Refresh number 2 is more interesting.

After about 10 years since I wrote my first Genesis 1-11 sermon series and preaching them through on about 4 occasions, I finally gave them a complete rewrite and overhaul. Lots has changed, including my preaching style (e.g. going from full script to notes). It’s to be expected since I wrote the first series when I was still a theology student.

One of the things I really tried to do in this series is to preach Christ from the Old Testament in a way that didn’t make every sermon ending sound the same – you know, the ‘here’s Jesus!’, as if I’ve just pulled the same token rabbit out of the same hat. But because I’m more convinced than ever that Jesus must be preached from every text in Scripture, I wasn’t willing to compromise on pointing people to the gospel through the text.

The other thing I’ve grown in is (hopefully) doing better application. I may never finish my series of posts started last year on application, but no matter. I really tried with each sermon not to be trite or formulaic with application but to dig deep.

How was the execution? Well, I’m definitely happier with these sermons than with my old series. Whether I succeeded or not isn’t best judged by me. So if you’re interested, here’s where you can find the sermons: www.sermon.net/swccc

About Pete

I am a child of God, a husband, a father of four children, a pastor, and a church planter. I live in Sydney Australia and live to see Jesus made famous in this city and be the only God people worship.

Posted on June 19, 2011, in Ministry, Sermons. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks, Pete. Is there any way of downloading the MP3s? I’m interested in hearing them, but I can’t see when I would sit at my computer and stream them :/

    Thanks lots,

    Stuart

  2. Hi Stuart, under the details tab (which should be open), look for “download:audio” and then click to download.

    You can also podcast: copy and paste http://sermon.net/swccc/rss into your ‘subscribe to podcast’.

  3. Ahhh…thanks. I’ll put a little star on my luddite chart.

  4. Niiice new look. Glad you’re back into it 😉

Leave a Reply

