Are we Laodicean?

Revelation 3:14-22  14 “And to the angel of the church in Laodicea write: ‘The words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of God’s creation.  15 “‘I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot!  16 So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth.  17 For you say, I am rich, I have prospered, and I need nothing, not realizing that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked.  18 I counsel you to buy from me gold refined by fire, so that you may be rich, and white garments so that you may clothe yourself and the shame of your nakedness may not be seen, and salve to anoint your eyes, so that you may see.  19 Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline, so be zealous and repent.  20 Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.  21 The one who conquers, I will grant him to sit with me on my throne, as I also conquered and sat down with my Father on his throne.  22 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.'”

Was reading Revelation 3 this morning and challenged to once again pray earnestly and regularly for revival. O that God would pour out his Spirit afresh in our churches so that we would be zealous and repent of our complacency! Without the Sovereign Spirit of God at work, we would not even heed this passage as a warning. We wouldn’t invite in the Lord who stands at the door knocking; we wouldn’t repent of our wretchedness and poverty and nakedness. We’d continue to be the smug Western church that is extravagantly wealthy and yet in overall decline – spiritually and numerically.

I am convinced that on the whole, the churches in Australia are Laodicean – neither hot nor cold. May God light a furnace in our generation. Will you join with me in regular prayer for revival?

About Pete

I am a child of God, a husband, a father of four children, a pastor, and a church planter. I live in Sydney Australia and live to see Jesus made famous in this city and be the only God people worship.

Posted on November 3, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. interesting read pete.

    re: the point on frustrations when do you think it has been valid or invalid for you?

    i can see when Jesus got frustrated with his disciples when at times they just didnt get the clear point or were just not doing the right thing.

    And i was thinking on this topic, people getting upset with other people because what they wern’t doing. More so… after i had recently done congregational prayer i was given feedback where they said they were unhappy how others had not prayed a certain point during congregational prayer. With this in mind i thought, well what about so many other points that would be on Gods Heart.. if you mention the first point could (more so is your hurt valid) you then get upset with others for not praying about other things such as relationships,healing etc.

    I didnt really say much after this but just listened..

Leave a Reply

