Facebook and Twitter = Good for Prayer

facebook-logotwitter-logo

It just occurred to me (forgive my slowness, probably a million people are already doing this): facebook status updates and tweets are great ways to get us to do short, spontaneous and unplanned intercessory prayer.

If you’re like me and often read with interest people’s statuses and tweets, wondering what’s going on with their lives – why not turn the curiosity into short 10 second prayers for them and the things they’re concerned about?

I’ve noticed that sometimes people’s openness on their statuses and tweets alerts me to stuff going on in their lives that (for some reason) they wouldn’t necessarily share with me face-to-face. Often these hints that things aren’t going okay are just vague hints, but it’s enough to get me concerned for them. So why not turn the concern into actual prayers?

Here’s an idea: in addition to your prayer diary/lists, why not spend every morning praying through a number of people that are updated on your facebook or twitter? You can even see it as a way that God leads you to pray for people that you otherwise wouldn’t have.

Now to get praying…

About Pete

I am a child of God, a husband, a father of four children, a pastor, and a church planter. I live in Sydney Australia and live to see Jesus made famous in this city and be the only God people worship.

Posted on September 21, 2009, in Christian Living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. i tried to do something i called “Pray for Six”
    basically pray for the 6 people who i can view on my profile.
    problem? didn’t do it much. one of the reasons is that i don’t often check facebook on computer – normally on phone.

    so thanks for the encouragement! i think your suggestion is realistic and will try and do it over the next little while.

    peaceout homie

  2. Pete,

    I’ve been trying to find something edifying about twitter and you might have found it for me.

    I’ll give it a go.

Leave a Reply

